January 31-I Will Wear the Yellow Star, I Will Wear the Pink Triangle

Yellow Star in Nazi GermanyI am a Buddhist. But if any person of faith is going to be required to register, I will register too, in protest.

This week, the Spokane City Council voted 7 to 0 to make it a law that no citizen shall be required to officially register as part of any religion. City Hall was packed with people supporting this measure.

I am proud of my city. As an American, I believe in the separation of church and state. My religion is none of the government’s business.

The GOP Chairperson here called this action political, and a distraction, and political posturing by Council Member Ben Stuckart, who is poised to run against Republican Cathy McMoris Rodgers in 2018. (I hope he wipes the floor with her.) I don’t think so. I think it’s necessary proactive action. Time will tell.

 

Leave a Reply

