January 14-It Is No Longer a Joke

ACLU LogoWhen I was little, some comedian made a joke about being *a card-carrying member of the ACLU* and the phrase stuck in my mind. I don’t know why. I grew up in ultra-conservative 1980s Idaho.

Well, I just became a card-carrying member of the ACLU. I donated money for the first time ever. Why? Because I believe in separation of church and state, which Trump apparently doesn’t. Because I believe in freedom of speech, which Trump definitely doesn’t. Because I believe in freedom of the press, which oh hell, Trump doesn’t.

If this doesn’t scare you, you may be drinking too much. Freedom is like physical fitness…you either use it, or lose it.

Leave a Reply

