January 16-Play FreeRice and Feed the World

I love to play FreeRice on my phone. FreeRice.com. It is a real site, not a scam–I checked it out when I worked at the Better Business Bureau many years ago.

FreeRice screenshot English Vocab Level 50How It Works

The United Nations gets advertisers/sponsors to post ads while you play the game. For every correct answer you get, they donate some grains of rice to their programs that feed the hungry all over the world It’s awesome! It’s fun and educational too.

You can play English literature, famous paintings, world landmarks, flags, chemistry symbols, math, German language, anything you want.

There are 60 levels to English Vocabulary, and naturally as an English major from the University of Idaho I want to go to level 60! So far my best level is level 50, but I keep trying!!!

I close with a quote from the woman my maternal grandmother admired above all others (love you Grammie Beth!!!)

  • “Courage is more exhilarating than fear and in the long run it is easier. We do not have to become heroes overnight. Just one step at a time, meeting each thing that comes up, seeing it is not as dreadful as it appeared, discovering we have the strength to stare it down.”

    Eleanor Roosevelt, supporter of the United Nations and drafter of the Magna Carta of Universal Human Rights

Leave a Reply

