February 25–Online Petition Signing

Gabby Giffords with husband Mark
Democratic Congresswoman Gabrielle Giffords and astronaut husband Mark

So I wonder. Does it do any good to sign petitions, online or otherwise? Don’t politicians just hit that DELETE button, or more likely, their interns do? I don’t think many, if any, in the GOP care if American voters don’t agree with what they’re doing. They’ve shown that they’re going to keep on doing it anyway. Nonetheless, I think it is still important to keep speaking up, keep speaking, out and most of all REFUSE to be silent or silenced.

Wir schweigen nicht,” said Hans and Sophie Scholl, (we will not remain silent) and lost their lives for it. Can we do less?

Signing Up And Signing Out

Hans and Sophie Scholl
Hans and Sophie with a friend who is on his way to the Russian Front

Today I signed an online petition put out by ActBlue.org through the DCCC which asked what I think of Republican Congresspeople such as the truly disgusting Cathy McMorris Rogers avoiding Town Hall Meetings because they’re “scared” of their constituents.

Here is Gabrielle Giffords’ response to that:

“I was shot on a Saturday morning. By Monday morning my offices were open to the public. Ron Barber – at my side that Saturday, who was shot multiple times, then elected to Congress in my stead – held town halls. It’s what the people deserve in a representative.”

So to Congressman Gohmert and others who are abandoning their civic obligations, I say this: Have a little courage. Face your constituents. Hold town halls.”

http://americansforresponsiblesolutions.org/stand-with-gabby/

PS–the DCCC survey says it will not ask you for money. It does let you sign the petition, but then it asks you for money. Since I’m trying to feature a mixture of #ResistTrump actions on this blog and I don’t want them all to require donations, I was not a fan of this.

Gabby’s petition also asks you for money.

I am still including these two links because unlike many online surveys, they don’t require you to donate before your signature will be registered.

Leave a Reply

